West and Equatorial Africa

 

Equatorial Africa is the western part of intertropical Africa located on both sides of the Equator, from Guinea to North Angola and along the Congo river. This area, almost entirely covered by tropical evergreen rain forest, shows no steep hills, its noticeable summits being mount Nimba (1850) in the west and the Adamaoua range (4000 m) in Cameroon. The climate is set by the trade wind, blowing from north-east above the equator and south-east below. By colliding into the oceanic trade wind, it gives birth to wet and cloudy conditions. The climatic features of this area are  :

Equatorial Africa

  • a constant heath around 25-30°C
  • fairly equal day and night length all year round
  • weak thermic amplitude over the year (about 5°C)
  • heavy rainfalls, over 1500 mm/year, especially in the montane areas where they can exceed 8000 mm. Rainfall is fairly constant all year round and the dry season is short
  • consequently, hygrometry is important, often exceeding 85%
  • The growing conditions of these plants must be kept in mind for successful culture, therefore, it is best to grow them in a terrarium. Many species ar of a delicate nature and difficult to keep in cultivation (more under the link : Begonia culture)

Tchimbélé dam lakeA begonias river to Gabon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You will find below an overview of the begonias growing in that area, sorted by habit and sections (the underlined names are pictured in the photo gallery)Epiphytic or lithophytic species :

  • TETRAPHILA : B. subscutata, B. polygonoides, B. gabonensis, B. ebolowensis, B. karperi, B. loranthoides, B. elaeagnifolia, B. longipetiolata,  B. squamulosa, B. kisuluana, B. eminii, B. fusialata, B. komoensisB. capillipes, B. poculifera var. poculifera and B. mannii
  • SEXALARIA : B. annobonensis : coastal areas of Cameroon, Sao Tome islands, Principe, Annobon. Terrestrial or lithophytic.
  • MEZIEREA : B. oxyloba : throughout tropical Africa (with other species from Madagascar, Seychelles islands, Comoro and Mascareignes islands), terrestrial, rarely epiphytic or lithophytic.
  • FILICIBEGONIA : B. aspleniifolia, B. minutifolia, B. elatostemmoides, B. auriculataB. macrocarpa, B. sciaphila, B. sessilifolia and B. gossweileri : from Guinea to east Congo an south towards Angola, terrestrial plants
  • CRISTASEMEN : B. thomeana, Sao Tome and Gabon; scandent
  • BACCABEGONIA : B. baccata : endemic to Sao Tome, terrestrial or lithophytic,

The cliff

Terrestrial plants, growing on the litter or lithophytic, sometimes scandent :

  • SQUAMIBEGONIA : B. ampla, B. bonus-henricus et B. poculifera var. teusziana : East of Dahomey-gap, from Nigeria throughout central Africa, Ouganda, Rwanda, Burundi and islands of the guinea gulf (see also Eastern and south Africa), epiphytic or litophytic plants ; from Guinea to Sierra Leone, througout the area (see also eastern and south Africa), epiphytic plants.

Both following sections are distinguished by their yellow flowers small rhizomatous habit. They are growing terrestrial or sometimes epiphytic. (please note that some species have white or pink flowers)

 

The rain forest to Gabon

 

  • SCUTOBEGONIA : B. aggeloptera, B. anisosepala, B. ciliobracteata, B. clypeifolia, B. dewildei, B. erectocaulis, B. erectotricha, B. ferramica, B. hirsutula, B. lacunosa, B. laporteifolia, B. mbangaensis, B. mildbraedii, B. peperomioides, B. scutulum, B. susaniae, B. vankerchklovenii, B. vittariifolia, B. wilksii, B. zairensis and B. zenkeriana : from Ivory coast to eastern Zaire and to the congolese/angolan border.

To discover the upper mentioned species, browse the photo gallery by clicking here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

L’Afrique ouest-équatoriale

 

Nous appellerons Afrique ouest-équatoriale, la partie Ouest de l’Afrique intertropicale située de part et d’autre de l’Equateur, de la Guinée au Nord de l’Angola et le long du fleuve Congo. Cette zone, au relief peu marqué, les principaux massifs montagneux étant le Mont Nimba (1850 m) à l’ouest et le massif de l’Adamaoua (4000 m) au Cameroun, est presque entièrement recouverte par la forêt ombrophile* sempervirente*. Son climat est déterminé par la présence de l’alizé, vent du Nord-Est au-dessus de l’Equateur, du Sud-Est au-dessous, qui se heurtant à l’alizé océanique, entraîne la formation de nuages à l’origine des précipitations. Il est caractérisé par :

– une chaleur permanente se situant autour de 25°C / 30°C

– la quasi-égalité de la durée du jour et de la nuit pendant toute l’année

– une amplitude thermique faible sur l’année, de l’ordre de 5°C

– de fortes précipitations, supérieures à 1500 mm par an, notamment dans les forêts de montagnes où elles peuvent dépasser 8000 mm ; ces précipitations sont pratiquement constantes et la saison sèche n’y est que de courte durée.

– il en résulte une hygrométrie* importante, souvent supérieure à 85%.

 

Les conditions de culture de ces plantes doivent tenir compte de ces données, ce sont donc des bégonias à cultiver en terrarium, délicates et difficiles à conserver (pour en savoir plus, voir la rubrique « la culture des bégonias« )

 

Voici les bégonias qui poussent dans ces régions, classés par « types » de plantes et par sections (les espèces soulignées sont représentées par une ou des photos dans la galerie photo) :

 

Les plantes le plus souvent épiphytes* ou rupestres*

TETRAPHILA : B. subscutata, B. polygonoides, B. gabonensis, B. ebolowensis, B. karperi, B. loranthoides, B. elaeagnifolia, B. longipetiolata,  B. squamulosa, B. kisuluana, B. eminii, B. fusialata, B. komoensisB. capillipesB. poculifera var. poculifera et B. mannii : de la Guinée et du Sierra Leone à travers toute la zone (voir aussi Afrique de l’Est et du Sud) ; plantes épiphytes*

SQUAMIBEGONIA : B. ampla, B. bonus-henricus et B. poculifera var. teusziana : Est du Dahomey-gap, du Nigeria à travers l’Afrique centrale, Ouganda, Rwanda, Burundi et îles du Golfe de Guinée (voir aussi Afrique de l’Est et du Sud) ; plantes souvent épiphytes* ou rupestres*

un site typique à bégonias le lac de Tchimbélé dans les Monts de Cristal au Gabon

 

Les plantes le plus souvent terrestres (qui poussent sur la litière forestière) ou rupestres*, parfois grimpantes

BACCABEGONIA : B. baccata : endémique Sao-Tomé ; plante terrestre ou rupestre*

CRISTASEMEN : B. thomeana : Sao Tomé et Gabon ; plante grimpante

FILICIBEGONIAB. aspleniifoliaB. minutifoliaB. elatostemmoidesB. auriculataB. macrocarpa, B. sciaphilaB. sessilifolia et B. gossweileri : de la Guinée jusqu’à l’est du Congo et au sud, en Angola ; plantes terrestres

MEZIEREA : B. oxyloba : toute l’Afrique tropicale (avec d’autres espèces de Madagascar, Seychelles, Comores et Mascaraignes ) ; plante terrestre, rarement épiphyte* ou saxicole*

SEXALARIA : B. annobonensis : côte du Cameroun, Iles de Sao Tomé, Principe, Annobon  plante terrestre ou rupestre*

 

Les deux sections suivantes sont celles des bégonias à fleurs jaunes qui sont des petites plantes terrestres et rhizomateuses quelquefois épiphytes*. (A noter que certaines espèces de ces sections ont des fleurs blanches ou roses)

un jardin suspenduLOASIBEGONIA : B. adpressaB. atroglandulosaB. duncan-thomasiiB. heterochromaB. letouzeyi, B. microsperma, B. minuta, B. potamophila, B. prismatocarpa, B. pseudoviola, B. pulcherrima, B. quadrialataB. salisburyana, B. scapigeraB. schaeferiB. scutifolia et B. staudtii : de la Guinée à l’Est du Zaire, Rwanda Burundi, Angola.

SCUTOBEGONIA : B. aggelopteraB. anisosepala, B. ciliobracteata, B. clypeifolia, B. dewildeiB. erectocaulisB. erectotrichaB. ferramica, B. hirsutula, B. lacunosa, B. laporteifolia, B. mbangaensisB. mildbraediiB. peperomioidesB. scutulumB. susaniae, B. vankerchkloveniiB. vittariifolia, B. wilksii, B. zairensis et B. zenkeriana : de la Côte d’Ivoire jusqu’à l’Est du Zaire et la bordure Congo/Angola

 

 

Pour voir les bégonias de ce biotope en photos, rendez-vous dans la galerie d’images dédiée en cliquant ici.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *